top of page

What In The Chakra? Getting to the Root of it!

  • Are you attracted to the color red?

  • Do you anger quickly, have frustration, rage?

  • Are you controlling?

  • Do you feel hopeless, negative thinking?

  • Do you overeat?

  • Are you a hoarder of material or food items?

  • Are you depressed, have mental illness, stress?

  • Do you have trouble sleeping?

  • Do you have anxiety or panic attacks, poor focus?

  • Do you have low energy?

  • Do you have lower back pain, pain in your feet and legs, pelvic pain?

  • Do you have issues with bowels or bladder (constipation or incontinence) or colon disease?

  • Do you feel alone and isolated. Disconnected from the family and friends around you?

  • Do you lack motivation to take action or manifest your intentions?

  • Do you feel unsafe or insecure, self-conscious, or paranoid around others?

  • Is your home life chaotic?

  • Have you suffered from childhood traumas?

  • Do you feel overwhelmed, fearful, worried?

  • Do you experience weight gain or weight loss?

If you answered yes to any of these...Your ROOT chakra is blocked!

The ROOT Chakra is the first of the 7 chakras or energy centers and is located at the base of the spine at the tailbone area. This chakra is the foundation of the physical structure of our body and is responsible for our sense of safety and security, our very own identity. The Root chakra is the foundation for all the other chakras and all things we experience during our earthly life. In Sanskrit (an ancient Indo-European language of India), this chakra is known as MULADHARA...2 words...Mula meaning "root" and Adhara meaning "base, foundation, support".

The Root chakra is an EARTH element and is associated with the color RED, and is the link between our energetic system and the physical world. The Root chakra gives us the motivation to eat, sleep, and procreate as well as developing our sense of belonging and positive self-esteem, our personal integrity. This chakra when balanced keeps us grounded to the earth allowing us to take root and prepare to move forward on our life journey. We feel secure in our actions and choices when this chakra is balanced and unblocked.

This chakra gives us the ability to feel firmly rooted and grounded in our lives and drives us to meet basic survival needs such as food, water, shelter, survival, and who we are, our identity and ancestry. This chakra connects us to our ancestors and their journeys and carries our ancestral memories. These memories are recorded in the root chakra and are imprinted in our subtle bodies, then passed down generation after generation creating generational habits or patterns that in order to survive, we must bring these latent memories to light and use them responsibly for betterment.

Karma from previous generations and our very own lives are seeded within the root chakra. Every thought, intention, and action we have is sown into our root chakra and will sooner or later rise to the light. These seeds lay dormant until conditions are right within the root chakra and will present in many forms such as emotionally, physically, psychologically, mentally, and spiritually. When our root chakra becomes dysfunctional it causes a disconnection from our earthly values and manifest many of the conditions mentioned above. The main focus of the root chakra is to satisfy our basic primary needs to survive. When this chakra is blocked...all the other chakras will be misaligned and fail to function properly putting our body in a state of dis-ease.

The Root chakra controls our animal nature and is governed by our predominant survival sense of Smell, then Taste. Think about the "Rooting Reflex" in babies. This is a babies basic survival instinct. The rooting reflex helps babies find (smell) and latch onto a moms breast or a bottle to feed (taste). Successful rooting overtime provides affirmation to the infant that he or she is safe and will be provided for in this world. So hold your babies close, stroke their little cheeks while gazing into their little eyes, SMILE and let them ROOT away!

Look around your home or you have some red items? When you see red things does it soothe you or make you feel safe? If so, that's because the color RED symbolizes strength, vitality, confidence, primal instincts and power. The color red is linked to our physical and emotional needs related to survival and self-preservation. The Root chakra is the most dense of all the other chakras and the color red is the most dense of all the chakra colors. The color red is the slowest of all the wavelengths in the visible spectrum and is also the most stimulating color among all colors. The color red draws our retina forward thereby commanding our attention. It signals danger and makes us act with urgency. Red is the color of the life force, the color of blood and the first color we come into contact with when we are born. Is it a coincidence the stop lights and stop signs are the color red?

There are many ways to activate, unblock, and balance your Root Chakra.

  • Meditations that focus on grounding

  • Practicing yoga (Tree or Mountain poses)

  • Essential oils (Sandalwood, Rosewood, Ginger, Myrrh, Frankincense, Rosemary, Cedar, Black Pepper, Clove)

  • Gardening and Earthing- feeling the earth beneath our bare feet (my favorites)

  • Repeating positive affirmations

  • Spending time outdoors running or hiking or simply standing and being in nature

  • Hug a tree

  • Dancing

  • Chanting- Lam (the sound of spiritual awakening)

  • Wearing the color RED or energizing your space with red items

  • Wearing crystals that support the Root Chakra...Black Tourmaline; Red jasper; Hematite; Bloodstone; Tiger Eye; Garnet; Black Obsidian; Smoky Quartz; Black Onyx; Moss Agate

  • Eat Red fruit (strawberries, cherries, tomatoes, beets, pomegranate)

  • Drinking red teas such as Rooibos tea, Hibiscus tea, Rose tea, Raspberry leaf tea, Butterfly Pea Flower tea

  • Visualizing the color RED

  • Using a grounding mat or sheets

  • Get a Reiki and Chakra Healing session @tangiblehealinghouse

Some positive affirmations you can repeat throughout the day...

  • I feel safe and secure

  • I am grounded

  • I trust more and fear less

  • I have abundance in my life

  • I love my body and trust it's wisdom

  • I love myself and take care of my well-being

  • I trust the universe to support me

  • I have found my peace

  • I have deep roots

  • I am at home in my body

  • The earth supports and nourishes me

  • I am grateful for challenges because they make me stronger

  • My body is my home

  • I stand for values, truth, and justice

So again... Let's Get to the Root of it... think about your childhood and past dreams or memories you're able to recall. Use what promotes positive personal growth and supports your highest intentions and change or forget what no longer serves you. If the memory makes you smile and enlist feelings of joy then by all means embrace it. If these memories are unpleasant then contact me for discussions about inner child work to work through these traumas. The Root Chakra must be balanced first before all other chakras or true transformation and personal growth will not occur.

I hope you enjoyed this post and will come back to learn about the other 6 chakras in the 8 post series. Please like and share this post and my website with others you may think can benefit from learning about chakras and receiving Reiki and Chakra balancing sessions.

You can follow me on all social media platforms @tangiblehealinghouse

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page